Views/opinions on changing under bonnet plastic service items

Started by sud901, March 16, 2014, 05:37:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sud901

I have a 166 approaching its 10th birthday since it was produced. On the road about 9 years, 138,000km.

I like preventative maintenance; replacing things before they are known to fail rather than waiting for them to do so.

In that vein, what is the collective opinion of replacing items such as radiator, coolant overflow tank and coolant hoses, for example, at around the 10 year mark?

I don't wish to replace parts for the hell of it - Alfa parts are not cheap enough to warrant that approach - but I'd like to keep the car in peak condition mechanically.

Please be patient with me, I am new to Alfas when it comes to working on them, so I apologise in advance if this has been covered before...

colcol

When you buy another car i always replace all the coolants oil and filters, as you don't know when they have been done, replacing radiator and coolant tank is just wasting money, spend that money on replacing the timing belt and tensioners.
If your coolant tank starts to leak, just replace it, it may last for 30 years, as for the radiator, it is unlikely it will just blow up, it will most likely start to leak, and when it does replace it.
According to a Falcon mechanic freind Falcons consume radiators at an alarming rate, so you budget to replace one every so many years, and Commodores are known to like radiators as well.
For the 166, put a shield over the computer that is directly under the heater, when the heater leaks, and it will, the computer replacment will cost more than the car, thats why you occasionly see a 166 on ebay for not much $$$$.
Coolant hoses are quite expensive to have in the boot just in case, if you blow one you could get a universal hose at Repco, to get you home, or until you can source one, Colin.
1974 VW Passat [ist car] 1984 Alfa 33TI [daily driver] 2002 Alfa 156 JTS [daily driver]

sud901