New Member: Regarding Alfa 156

Started by easside, June 19, 2008, 10:49:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

easside

Davidm1600

Hi Easside

I feel for you re your problems encountered so soon into ownership with your 156.  I bought a 2003 JTS sportwagon last November from a dealer in Sydney, I live in Hobart so am on my own re the cost of repairs.  So far plus some 5-6km later, touch metal/leather I have had no problems.

However, while I have no knowledge of the selespeed issues you are talking of, I would most definitely get that and the temperature guage problem checked out as quickly as you can.

Re the temperature problem, from past experiences it could be a number of issues.  Obviously the worst being a head gasket problem.  The tell tale signs being oil in water or water in oil - therefore check both the radiator & overflow bottles, plus dipstick and oil filer cap.  If you have brown-milky oil, froth under the caps etc it is headgasket problem.  You can also pressure test for a leaking gasket, and lastly if you hear water bubbling in the radiator after you turn the engine off this also is a sign that the head gasket is about to go.

It, however, could be an electrial problem eg temperature sensor or alternatively a problem in the dash, or the computer.  156s have been known to have a number of faulty gauges, warning lights etc which are computer related.

Hopefully someone with greater knowledge of 156s will be able to perhaps offer you more definitive advice and perhaps advice on where to take your car to get it checked out properly.   Goodluck and hopefully it won't be too expensive.  Cheers Dave
Current:
2003 JTS 156 sportwagon
1969 Giulia sedan (x2)
1969 AC Fiat 124 sport

Past: '76 Alfetta 1.8 GT 
        '76 Alfetta 1.8 Sedan
        ' 73 2L Berlina

John Hanslow

Not sure what area you live in but how about checking out our sponsors page.  There are a few there.