Looking for Track Stars

Started by Dinky Boy, September 22, 2008, 11:40:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dinky Boy

Hi all,

I'm a scale model collector. I have been collecting Alfa Romeos in any scale for about 30 years, the past five years only scale 1:43 or smaller since I was growing out of space.

Main goal of my collection is to get an overview of the complete Alfa Romeo history. It will never be complete (and that's fine with me) because most prewar Alfa models are only available as beautiful but expensive handbuilts.

Apart from the more serious models (Progetto K, M4, Bang, Minichamps, etc) I like the odd things, funny toys cars, meant for children but with a rather good shape and recognizable as an Alfa.

Among them: Track Stars!

Neither on the cars nor on the packaging the name Alfa Romeo is mentioned, but the designs has clearly been derived from the DTM/ITC Alfa Romeo 155 V6 TI racing cars that have been in a though touring car competition with Mercedes and Opel. Models from these makes do exist too, but I'm not interested in them.

These China made cars have been sold all over the world, but I get the impression the emphasis was in Australia. I like the good shape, the lively colors and of course the little tin boxes printed in the same colors and with the same 'sponsors'.

Within the pas years I collected 20 different liveries.

(Livery,main colors, racing number)
1.   Selleys, red, 24
2.   Trackstars 1, red yellow purple, 1
3.   TS3, yellow purple orange, 3
4.   Autolite, red, 88
5.   Redex, blue, 66
6.   Duracell, copper black, 4
7.   Valvoline, white blue, 32
8.   Turtlewax, yellow red, 99
9.   Fram, orange grey, 5
10.   Dorcy, gold purple, 12
11.   Cummins, blue white, 24
12.   Vodafone, red black, -
13.   Pirtek, blue, 8
14.   Series 500, black, 500
15.   WD40, yellow, - (ZB)
16.   Gillette, blue green, 3 (ZB)
17.   Prestone, yellow, 16 (ZB)
18.   Kitten, black, 21 (ZB)

19.   Seriously Ten, blue, -