Looking at buying a Spider or GTV around the 1999 to 2001 need some advice

Started by Mikeymike, July 18, 2010, 01:10:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mikeymike

Hi people I am just getting into this Alfa problem. I have been a car boy most of my life and now that my life has settled down and I guess the time is right I am looking at buying myself a new toy. The Spider or the GTV seem to be the one. I am looking at the V6 models, Don't really know what the Twin Spark is and how it compairs to the V6.
So any info you could give would be great. What to look for when looking at a car, the do's and don'ts etc
What problems they have if any and just general info
Be gentle with with me as I am new to this lol
I look forward to any help
Thanks
Mike   ;D

spieret

Hi Mike,

I have owned my V6 GTV now for around 3 years and I love her. She has her little quirks, like in cold weather when you push the remote button to unlock the doors, they lock again straight away like she is saying "no it's too cold i don't want to go out yet". But once you drive her, just try to not grin.

I have driven a TS and sorry to those that have one but it just doesn't compare to the V6. Now the V6 engine in the earlier model GTV's pre 2001 is pretty bulletproof if it's been looked after. Just recently I have had to replace the diff/gearbox as the diff threw a tooth through the bell housing of the gearbox, apparantly this can happen quite frequently in the V6 models as the diff can't really handle the amount of torque coming from the motor. But that gave me the chance to put in an LSD Q2.

Other than that I have had to replace some heater hoses. I have friends who have jap and aussie cars that break down more than my Alfa. There was a very good article in Auto-Italia magazine recently on buying a GTV, you might want to check their back issues on their website. Or one of the guys in the NSW club might have one you can have a read of.