Want to buy - Weber Carburetor (twin) 40 DCOE 28

Started by 1300-GT-Junior, March 18, 2011, 03:35:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

1300-GT-Junior

All,

I am looking to buy the above. The Solex's on my 1300GTJ are on the way out and am making the car run lean.

Any ideas where I can get a good set?

Cheers all.

BradGTV

http://www.alfaholics.com/race-performance/alfaholics-performance-and-racing-parts/fuel-system/

and

http://www.ahmotorsports.co.uk/index2.htm

both sell them, im not aware of anywere in oz that you can buy them?

im no expert but gaskets and seals are the only things that wear out on them, maybe a rebuild kit?

or i have a set of delloroto's in fully working condition $275
79 gtv sr20, 83 gtv, 83 gtv6 3.0, 75 ts x 3, 85 gtv, 76 gt, 91 164, Subey L Series, S13 silvia, Bmw e30 318i, VT SS 6spd

branko.gt

most 40DCOE will work fine for you.

you do need 28 chokes though ....
although if you put 105.48 cams, you could change the chokes to 30 and adjust the jetting for some very nice top end response.

there is little bit off a flat spot just under 3000 but IMHO that is a fair trade-off.

we have done that on my 1300 junior and it is just fantastic :-)

1300-GT-Junior

Some of you are aware that I am still in the infant phase of learning about my car.

I got presented with 2 options

1. Keep the original thermostat and replace my Solex's for Webers (I am told that the butterfly is rattling around, the bushes and shafts are worn) causing the car to have just over 3 cylinders on start up. I am told that the bearings inside the Weber's are a point of difference here.

2. Put a different manifold with the new Webers on and change the thermostat.

This is all a bit confusing for me, the original book has 40 DOCE 28 but it obviously appears that other 40's are suitable.

AikenDrum105