2 litre engine will not fire..help needed please.

Started by mickl, May 26, 2011, 02:38:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MD

Quote...Only going for the coil so I can tell MD he was wrong  for once...

Been wrong many times but I am always happy to learn something by it so don't hold back. I am an expert on humble pie.. :D
Transaxle Alfas Haul More Arse.

Current Fleet
Alfetta GTV6 3.0
Alfetta GTV Twin Spark supercharged racer
75 1.8L supercharged racer

Past Fleet
Alfa GT 3.2V6
Alfetta GTV 2.0
Giulia Super 2.0
Berlina 2.0

Darryl

Quote from: mickl on June 03, 2011, 01:57:21 PM
The pointer is about 10mm from the M mark and between the M and the F mark. The F mark is just out of sight. looking in the dizzy, the points are not yet on the high point of the shaft and hence not yet fully open to the max gap.

If I'm understanding that description correctly, your points are open before F, which is the static timing mark, so timing is advanced, but by the sounds of it not by much so probably ok/good.

Quote from: mickl on June 03, 2011, 01:57:21 PM
looks like I will have to remove the radiator now as I have noticed a small water leak from behind the pulley which carries the fan. Would it also be a good time to get the timing chain replaced or at least inspected/ Who knows when it was last replaced. I do not have a workshop manual for the car and I suspect this might also be a job for the pros....any idea of what it might cost?

Leave the timing chain alone - unlike a belt it isn't a regular service item, very unlikely you need to replace it. If it is loose you can adjust the tensioner easily enough yourself.

mickl

Well, the day started badly but improved significantly>>>
;D