What oil do you use on your 156 (pre facelift 2002)?

Started by daniel270991, July 16, 2012, 06:33:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

daniel270991

Pretty standard question but I thought experience is best here!

I have used Penrite HPR5 (5w-40) Full Synthetic and I thought was a fantastic oil - but I have heard it has 'less' cleaning abilities as other oils.

Hope to hear some recommendations. I realize most 10-40 full synthetic oils are the same on paper but different in experiences!

Cheers,

Daniel

colcol

Hello Daniel, for the 156 twin spark, the oil recommended is on the radiator apron, your owners manual and under the sunvisor, it is 10-40, Penrite is a very good oil, it is made for Australian conditions, and i use it in my car, as stated, i beleive it has less detergents than other oils, so maybe use it every second oil change, Penrite, Nulon, Shell, Valvoline, Castrol, Martini, Selenia and Mobil, to name a few are all good, i have used them all, but i am not a Scientist, so i don't know which one is best, it always boils down to whats on special at Repco, Supercheap or Autobahn, then i don't have to think to much, just keep it topped up, as if it gets to 'low' and the oil light comes on, your engine will need fixing, Colin.
1974 VW Passat [ist car] 1984 Alfa 33TI [daily driver] 2002 Alfa 156 JTS [daily driver]

Steve S

Unless someone has hard data about Penrite being low on detergents (to the point there is a problem) I would take that with a grain of salt. It's also not the only thing to worry about. HPR 5 has good specifications and infact a very high TBN for such a low cost synthetic. It is also a "heavy" 40 grade which may help if its using oil. btw Alfa specified 10w40 but that was 10 years ago. A full syn 0w/5w40 is a better oil in every way and can be used.

I used the 10w40 Martini at Maranello when I had a TS.

AndrewK

I'm currently using the Penrite 5W-60 over winter and it's great.

colcol