how hard can it be? bushes etc

Started by extraball, September 13, 2013, 08:05:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

extraball

My 147 has developed squeaks, and metallic noises when I drive over bumps. Now, I have a trolley jack, car stands, know how to use spanners etc. I have limited car mechanical knowledge, but I can use the above tools, so would it be too big a challenge to do this work myself? Looking at buying some poly bush kits, and going for it, but I dont want to bite off more than I can chew. Advice?
Thanks

Davidm1600

Hi Extraball, while I would imagine anything is possible if you have the tools, space and time, I can't actually confirm how relatively straight forward this is to fix or not. On the other hand I am sure Uncle Col or someone else more experienced is likely to chip in with some practical advice.

What I can tell you though and it is only based on my experience with my 156 is that before you head out and start purchasing new poly bushes etc is perhaps to establish where exactly the problems lay.  Let me explain.

I too had both knocking/creaking/squeaking sounds in the front suspension, still have one more to fix yet.  But.  I have read about it elsewhere as being a typical problem with the 147/156 model in that these issues are quite common with age/distance on the clock.

Basically the upper and lower control arms and sway bar bushes wear and will result in the sorts of sounds/clunkiness etc you commented on. 

The solution is both relatively straight forward and not too expensive.  Replace the top and lower control arms (come as complete kits, drop links and the sway bar bushes, and as Col will tell you also replace the bolts.   

All of this stuff is available from places such as EB Spares and there is another UK website (can't think of its name at the moment).  It is cheaper than here, better quality than the EBay stuff and it is normally delivered in 3-5 days.