Need help and opinion regarding 159 selespeed.

Started by waterau, November 08, 2013, 05:55:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

waterau

Hi,

I am fairly new to the car scene and knowing my rights as consumer. This has happened and I am wondering what can I do.

I have purchased an Alfa Romeo 159 selespeed brand new from Zagame in 2010. The car has been having minor problems ever since brand new. For example, interior noice, failed fan, a door wouldn't lock or open from outside, power steering noice, selespeed playing up etc etc.

Being a not so fussy person I decided to live with having the minor faults and settled with their fixs.

However, ever since May this year the Selespeed gearbox plays up from time to time, switches to neutral all of a sudden in all sorts of timing. Also, there are times when the gear shows as 1 on the dash but actually in reverse gear.

Took the car back to them for fix as it was still under warranty, Zagame claims that the problem has been fixed but it then happened in September again and finally they replaced the Selespeed actuator. Good for less than 2 months and it happened again in November.

I know the warranty covers the failed parts to be fixed or replaced. It is really fair enough if part fails and car won't move so it gets back to fix on a tow truck etc. But this suddenly switching to neutral problem is putting my life at risk to be able to encounter it. Especially when they claim to have fixed in 2 times already and it always happen again after a short time frame.

The car is still currently under warranty but I completely cannot trust the reliability of selespeed anymore. And after doing some read up it appears to be a common problem that a lot of selespeed owners come across so it should mean that the Selespeed is FAULTY in design?